Transforming homework?

Home Forums PedagooResolutions Engagement in Homework Transforming homework?

Tagged: 

Viewing 1 post (of 1 total)
  • Author
    Anonymous
    Inactive

I am a Science teacher in a Secondary school in Edinburgh. At present I am working on a classroom homework enquiry in part completion of a MEd at Stirling University. Until recently our homework tasks were mainly traditionally driven by content of subject, a weekly issue- grade marked-returned basis. In general summative assessment was the main way of grading/evaluating pupils’ learning. Our concerns being that these summative forms of assessment generate very little useful information for students and results in lack of engagement by them in the homework assignments.